Barack Obama: Creating A New Generation Of Cynics

Betsy Newmark is an AP History and AP Government teacher in North Carolina:

“…I saw how excited and happy so many of my students were about Obama in 2008. Now I’m teaching a new generation of students and they already seem cynical about politicians’ promises, including those of President Obama. These kids, mostly 10th graders, don’t know what Watergate was and have little concept of the impact of the Vietnam War. I happen to think that such skepticism is well-deserved and healthy, but I can see how those who thought Obama showed such promise in 2008 would indeed be in despair at the reality.”

Author: qcexaminer

None of your damned business.

One thought on “Barack Obama: Creating A New Generation Of Cynics”

  1. When I was a kid I was an Democrat-leaning optimist about politics – I took people for their word. I followed that period with a Republican-leaning cynical period. I am currently a political realist voting the issues – knowing most will never actually be responded without social upheaval.

Leave a Reply

