The Correct Course Of Action When Someone Who Wants Your Money Says Something Is “Strikingly Clear”

The poobahs of Renew Moline have taken to the op-ed pages of The Hare-Dispatch in order to continue the drum-beating for the train boondoggle:

“From the beginning of the debate, the economics (of passenger rail) have remained strikingly clear: this represents a smart public investment that will generate jobs, economic growth while connecting the Quad- Cities to Chicago, one of the world’s top economic cities.”

Yes, it’s “strikingly clear” that Renew Moline has used their own “studies” rather than the mountains of independent research that shows train service is a boondoggle and money pit of the first order which demands taxpayer subsidies in perpetuity. I would say that the Boston to DC corridor is “one of the world’s top economic cities” too, but even THAT train service never ever breaks even and STILL needs taxpayer huge subsidies.

It seems the belief that trains will generate jobs (taxpayer funded, of course) and create economic growth rather than an even larger tax bite, is a fundamentalist religion where facts are thrown over for hope and back to the future change.

So what should a taxpayer do when hit up for a contribution by the acolytes of The Church Of The Holy Boondoggle?

1. Know when they say the facts are “strikingly clear” in their favor, they anything but, and

2. Hold on to your wallet!

Trust me, if passenger trains were such a “smart” investment the private sector would still be running them.

Author: qcexaminer

None of your damned business.

5 thoughts on “The Correct Course Of Action When Someone Who Wants Your Money Says Something Is “Strikingly Clear””

  1. “”So what should a taxpayer do when hit up for a contribution by the acolytes of The Church Of The Holy Boondoggle?

    1. Know when they say the facts are “strikingly clear” in their favor, they anything but, and

    2. Hold on to your wallet!

    Trust me, if passenger trains were such a “smart” investment the private sector would still be running them. “”

    All facts that the politicians are more than happy to put into a spin mode to make them come out stamped with a smiley face supporting their proposed pork project.

    Another fact is that the East Moline Fields of Pizza has 12″ pizzas for $5 dollars tilol closing today. Now that was an investment I gladly shelled out my money for today!

  2. S, I deleted one of the duplicates but kept your #2 so I could rant about the intertubes thingees.

    I had been perfectly happy with my old setup until the people in my family with Y chromosomes insisted I get one of those newfangled blogging machines.

    I am not a happy blogger—not only is this new machine so damned touchy that if you breath on it, an entire post is destroyed, that newfangled high speed nonsense is always on the damned fritz.

    The above post of the day had to be redone three times.

    So if blogging is limited, it’s not because I’m not trying, it’s because &^%)@# technology and Y chromosomes got in my way.

  3. Sadly I am afeared that I shall have to finally leave my beloved dial-up service in favor of the high speed service. I have been mulling it over for several months. My frugal nature makes it difficult for me to justify the extra cost. Still I spent over thirty minutes making a two second fix on my short blog post about pizza earlier today – not because of content issues – but because several programs for my software & hardware accessories were trying to updates. My blog post took forever to update the correction because there was just too much happening while I was on the Internet. 😯 The real sucky part is there are not many options for upgrading. I have already ruled out is Mediacom. I used to have cable service from that company –> GRRRR! I swore a blood oath I would not return to that company for any of the services that they offer.

  4. Well I’d recommend my high speed provider except I CAN’T.

    I don’t know what is causing you and jungle bill to get tossed into moderation, but I blame Frontier, Toshiba, WordPress and Y chromosomes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

