Bobby Gets His Maverick On

The Foundry:

“Last night, despite a strong majority vote in favor of the bill, the House of Representatives fell seven votes short of the two-thirds they needed to suspend the rules and pass three key counterterrorism amendments to [FISA].”

One of the “no” votes was our Congressman Bobby Schilling.

This bill was fast-tracked but for some unknown reason, the GOP whip didn’t bother to count heads before the vote. It is expected to pass when presented later in a manner requiring fewer votes.

One of the freshman GOPers who voted “no” indicated that this bill was sprung on them at the last minute and that they “felt completely uninformed by leadership”.

Let’s hope Boehner and his leadership team use this debacle as a teachable moment.

I don’t know the reason for Schilling’s “no” vote. Was it due to not being able to read the bill before voting on it? Does Schilling have a strong libertarian streak that prevented him voting for this? Something else?

Whatever the reason or reasons, it looks like we don’t have to worry about Schilling voting lockstep with the GOP and Boehner the way Hare did with the Democrats and Pelosi.

Author: qcexaminer

None of your damned business.

30 thoughts on “Bobby Gets His Maverick On”

  1. You were pretty much dead on with the reasons for Schilling’s “no” vote, from what I can surmise.

    Here’s what his Facebook said today: “No one should be surprised by my vote. During the campaign I stated that we need increased national security but not without a thorough and complete look at the PATRIOT Act and its scope. I kept my promise to the people of the 17th and voted “No” against a bill that was rushed to the floor with limited debate. I will continue to support a strong national defense that does not infringe upon the rights of Americans.”

  2. How do you forget your own name? Well at least I know that I can’t forget mine! I’m the first cousin of Mike Jacobs!

    Dave Jacobs is my name and I am the ultimate Democrat!

  3. Thanks for that, oh. I have to admit I never really got into Schilling’s policy positions in depth—I was mostly just happy to have an ABH (Anybody But Hare) candidate whose political philosphy was closer to mine than Marx!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Pardon my ignorance Dave, but what exactly does it mean to be “the ultimate Democrat”? 🙂

  4. The ultimate democrat wakes up every morning and pisses excellence, eats turds like you in their cereal and taxes the rich with a blink of an eye.

    I’ve come to save the country from you Schillingfags.

    Hey Schillingfags! If Bobby is against the patriot act then how come 9/11 hasn’t happened since? Check mate.

  5. I think Dave Jacobs seems really lost. Calling the Schillings Schillingfags is not very nice and it really seems as though Dave is someone who has been called a name like Schillingfag his whole life.

  6. Hey Rustyfag! If I have been called a schillingfag my whole life then how come my last name is jacobs and I’m married? Check mate.

  7. My enemy isn’t my own first cousin anyway. Mike, it’s okay to post under your real name! I do it and so can you. You don’t have to pose as fakers like ggal and rusty. Just put in Mikey J and we will know who you are.

    These Schillingfags are nothing to be afraid of. They are worse than moralfags, christianfags and newfags.

  8. Dave, why so angry? I do not believe that Jacobs is afraid of Rep Schilling as Rep Schilling is one and done. Rep Schilling has already said that he will not run against Schock. Your cousin will beat Schock in a very Democratic district. Who do you think makes the new districts, Phil Hare?

  9. LittleBit, I can’t wait either!

    Ever since Schilling beat Hare like a rented mule, something has been missing in my life—a dumbass politician to relentlessly mock, ridicule and denigrate. Sure, there’s always Obama, but EVERYBODY mocks him.

    If Marvelous Mike Jacobs decides to run for congress, I will have my new object of ridicule and a new lease on bloggy life. I have an archives full of stupid stuff Marvelous Mike has said and done—reaching back to his very first year as the selected, not elected state senator. Once he is in the spotlight and campaigning, the fun will never end!

    Ooooohhh, I can’t wait!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    The Daily Caller has an interview with Schilling about the FAIL of the votes on the Patriot Act and he mostly said what oh mentioned; it came down to the fact leadership didn’t give them enough time to read the bill before voting, and that the freshmen are SERIOUS about reading the damned bills.

    Proving Schilling is a better man than I am, he declined to take a cheap shot at Hare who famously claimed to have read the massive Obamacare bill three times.

    I would not have been able to resist the temptation. 🙂

  10. Mikey! Why must you hide your identity from these Schillingfags? We’re going to wipe the floor with these moral/christian/rich/newfags

    They are done. Once you get done gerrymandering your next district, Schilling won’t stand a chance!

  11. Note to Rusty: the district may be Democrat, but it ain’t liberal, as Hare found out last year.

    Jacobs is a tax and spend liberal and he has the record to prove it!

    JACOBS IN A LANDSLIDE!!11!!!!!!111

  12. Dave,

    Yesterday, United States Congressman Aaron W. Shock, state Rep. Patrick Verschoore, Illinois Senator Mike Jacobs, and Rock Island Republican County Chairwoman S. Carpentier brokered an agreement to provide semblance of order. Bob was the first over the cliff. Simply, he was expendable.

  13. Bobby gets a quote in Instapundit:

    “I mean I knew [the vote] was coming up. I could have just said ‘I’m here’ and not hit ‘yay’ or ‘nay’. But I hit the ‘no’. The big thing that we have to do is make sure that anything we’re voting for we know darn sure what we’re voting for.”

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Bobby’s been getting a lot of press on this. I loved this from Don Surber:

    “The Daily Caller story had an interview with Republican Congressman Bobby Schilling, who beat Democrat Phil ‘I don’t worry about the Constitution on this to be honest’ Hare in November.”

    Gentle readers, Surber is no local, he’s a newspaperman in West Virginia!

    The first sentence of Hare’s obituary has been written:

    Phil Hare, two term Democrat former congressman from Illinois who said about Obamacare ‘I don’t worry about the Constitution on this to be honest’ died today, etc. etc.

    The deal is sealed!

  14. Oh, please.

    I’ll have you all know I’ve dropped 20 pounds since the election. I’m getting in fighting shape for another go at it. Just 240 pounds to go.

    Bobby Schilling… job killing. Remember the mantra. You’ll be hearing it over and over for the next two years!

    Also, let me just say, and can I just say, and I’ll just finish with this: I hate all veterans with a passion, and if elected I will be their “worst nightmare.”

  15. Hey Schillingfags! Prove that Carpentier didn’t cut a deal to edge out Schilling! Oh what? You can’t? Check mate.

  16. I have seen Hare at the RI Fitness Center. He has lost about 25 lbs.

    I saw him sitting at the Mallards Game by himself as well.

    He’s trying as hard as he can. Because at the end of the day it’s about a little boy….

    Hey Athiest…If God Exists…why didn’t he prevent 9/11?

  17. A Hare-Dispatch editorial shouts hosannahs to Bobby for helping put the brakes on ramming through Patriot Act amendments.

    If the news side proves to be fair and balanced toward Schilling, I’ll have to think of a new name for the Hare-Dispatch! 🙂

  18. If you Schillingfags were smart you would know that Robert has already sold you all out. He worked a deal out with my cousin Mike to step down if Mike hired his kids to work in DC.

    That’s my cousin. Wheeling and dealing and doing what’s best for the people.

  19. Get real mary, it is impossible for Marvelous Mike Jacobs to feel embarrassment.

    If it WAS possible, he would have quit his mindless yapping after he compared himself to Rosa Parks.

    But no, Mike is a gaffe-o-matic on steroids—he never learns and changes because he is never embarrassed by what he says and/or does.

  20. Mary Dave is not hurting Jacobs he is telling the truth about Rep Schilling. Jacobs saying that his constituants like Rosa Parks werecnot going to take a back seat to Rod Blagojevich and the city of Chicago.
    Thanks Dave for getting the truth about Schilling out there.

Leave a Reply

