It’s My Life And I’ll Do What I Want

John Boehner’s response to Chris Wallace’s question about why he didn’t quit smoking:

“Oh, why do you bring this up again? Smoking. Listen, it’s a bad habit, but I have it. It’s a legal product. I choose to smoke. Leave me alone.”

Leave me alone, indeed.

It always amazes me that these news talk show hosts, who only have a few minutes to ask questions, invariably decide to ask the most silly and inconsequential questions imaginable.

Does anyone outside Boehner’s immediate family and circle of friends CARE if he smokes or not?

Um, no but our out-of-touch press people just can’t resist asking these irrelevant questions.

There’s a reason the establishment press has low credibility and low reader/viewership—and this is Exhibit A.

Author: qcexaminer

None of your damned business.

2 thoughts on “It’s My Life And I’ll Do What I Want”

  1. Why do you smoke and why do you cry?

    I saw most of that interview. He tried to get Boehner to say he’d cut entitlements. Boehner said something like … “when the American public understands the problems we have, then we can have that discussion.”

    I guess the idea is that they want to first establish there is a problem. As long as Democrats say “the debt is not a problem, we can spend spend spend”, we are not at the “what are we going to cut” stage.

    Of course knucklehead Hare got voted out while saying we should spend spend spend … promising more unicorns while the first bunch were still back ordered. But there are still plenty of hope and changers out there, blowing pixie dust up “collective asses”. 🙂

  2. I’m sorry I missed Boehner’s interview on FNS because from what I’ve read about it he appears to be one of the few adults in DC.

    Reid, Schumer, the Dick and other Dems appear to be working off their ’05 playbook when they shot down GWB’s attempt to talk about reforming S.S., and I’m afraid the demagoguery will continue. Reid says there’s NO PROBLEM with S.S. even though the congressional budgeteers say if changes aren’t made pronto it will be operating in the red from now on.

    But, whatever.

    Here’s the full quote you mentioned:

    “Americans are waiting for Congress to look them in the eye and be honest about how bad the problem is. ‘Once that happens, we can begin to talk about an array of possible solutions. And have that conversation. Then to begin to develop a plan of what’s doable to address the long-term concerns that we have in these entitlement programs’.”

    It’s interesting that Boehner has no expectations that Obama will lead on this, which he should; it will be congress doing the heavy lifting.

    But then, Obama’s never been much of a leader anyway—about anything.

Leave a Reply

