Mere Rhetoric

At Tuesday’s SOTU address, President Obama said “if you have ideas on how to improve [Obamacare] by making care better or more affordable, I am eager to work with you.”

Our Congressman Bobby Schilling said let’s get to work!

In a note sent yesterday to Obama, Schilling laid out some of the things about Obamacare that troubled him as a businessman and as a father of 10, including mandates, 1099 reporting and possible ending the Health Saving Account that Schilling uses for his family’s health care insurance.

Money quote from the note:

“I accept your invitation to work together, Mr. President, and request a meeting with you to discuss this important issue facing our nation. Just like you, I came into government looking to affect real change.”

*Snork*

And speaking of mere rhetoric, Schilling will be on ABC’s This Week with leftwinger Christiane Amanpour this Sunday at 8:00 a.m.

The subject of the discussion will be “the real state of the union”, and Schilling will be appearing with such heavyweights as Sen. Kent Conrad, Sen. Joe Lieberman and Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchinson.

One of my past complaints about Schilling was that I didn’t think he was very adept at extemporaneous speaking, so I’ll be watching to see if he has improved. I do give him credit for being like Daniel in the lion’s den; he has already appeared on Amanpour’s show and has been on “Tingles” Matthews show.

As far as I know, Phil Hare never appeared on any mainstream national tv show; he appeared on leftwing jokester’s Colbert show and fact-free leftwing Rachel Maddow, but that’s all he did in four years.

In part, that may have been because Hare doesn’t exactly have the looks for tv, and when it comes to being easy on the eyes, our current congressman is damned fine-looking for tv viewing.

Author: qcexaminer

None of your damned business.

2 thoughts on “Mere Rhetoric”

  1. I figured he had improved, otherwise he probably wouldn’t be appearing on national mainstream news shows.

    I don’t think I’ve seen/heard Schilling speak since he was on Merten’s public affairs show in November. I remarked at the time that Mrs. Schilling was a better public speaker.

    Anyway, I’ll make a note to watch This Week tomorrow to see for myself.

    I’m not sure what it means that he is on this show with heavy hitters like Hutchinson, Conrad, and Lieberman—but it’s gotta be good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

